Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
Welcome to Crypto. We hope you enjoy your visit.

You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use. If you join our community, you'll be able to access member-only sections, and use many member-only features such as customizing your profile, sending personal messages, and voting in polls. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free.

Join our community!

If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Username:   Password:
Add Reply
Books
Topic Started: Jul 4 2009, 02:05 AM (2,147 Views)
Gerry StPierre
Member Avatar
Just registered
[ * ]
I am fairly new to cryptology. I found out about the chaocipher after doing some googling after reading an article about Kryptos. That lead me to the Realm of Twelve website. Which led me to Elonka's page. The chaocipher intrigued me as something that I could possibly contribute to solving in some manner. First it is fairly modern. Second it is in English, my native (and only) tongue. Finally, there is an active community attempting to solve it thanks to mosher's work.

I wanted to do some reading on crytography. My local library only had a very basic book.

I used up a couple of Borders gift cards I had lying around and bought
The Code Book, Simon Singh (already read)
Codes, Ciphers, Secrets and Cryptic Communication, Fred B Wrixon

Any other suggestions? Anything that is relevant to the challenge of the Chaocipher?
Offline Profile Quote Post Goto Top

jdege
Member Avatar
NSA worthy
[ *  *  *  *  *  * ]
Books on cryptanalysis have been have been few, far between, and have rapidly fallen out of print.